For lovers of Christian rock and heavy metal!
 
HomeHome  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Share | 
 

 SacrivoX Metal Fest III Anticipation and Review

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Guilty/Forgiven

avatar

Number of posts : 9175
Age : 49
Localisation : Here
Registration date : 2007-05-18

PostSubject: SacrivoX Metal Fest III Anticipation and Review   Thu Jul 26, 2018 12:28 am

So I'm getting super excited for this year's Sacrivox concerts. Out of over 25 bands playing, this is my game plan:

Friday night (punk night), out of 5 bands playing, I'm only gonna catch CPR, and Headnoise. Both great classic 80s style hardcore punk. Should be fun, esp since I haven't seen a punk concert since the mid-80s.

Saturday, I'll only be seeing Bred 4 War, King David's Band, Crushing the Deceiver, Michael Knott, BioGenesis, Grave Robber, Jeremiah Dirt, Hand of Fire, Chaotic Resemblance, and DELIVERANCE !

Several other bands in between these just don't interest me. They're either the modern sound kids are into now, screamy growly stuff, or the kind of rap I don't care for.

So, next post here will be a Review of how it went (I know you're all on the edges of your seats just waiting)  Rolling Eyes Laughing
Back to top Go down
alldatndensum
Admin
avatar

Number of posts : 19346
Age : 49
Localisation : Tennessee
Registration date : 2007-01-30

PostSubject: Re: SacrivoX Metal Fest III Anticipation and Review   Thu Jul 26, 2018 7:42 am

I am only interested in hearing about these:  Grave Robber, Chaotic Resemblance, and DELIVERANCE.



Other than these, there wasn't a lot on the bill that would have interested me enough to go.  I'd love to hit some festivals, but there aren't any with a big enough list of bands anymore that I would want to hear.  That is why I was so excited when Seventh Day Slumber came around with their City Rockfest Tour.  They are already talking about coming back to the Nashville area with a couple of different bands with them just to change things up for next year.  I hope they do as I liked every band they brought.

_________________




I might have decided, or maybe not, that I should or shouldn't, depending on the issue or non-issue, to possibly share or not share, any thoughts, opinions, or facts (that might not be deemed factual by some), due to possible fear of any misinterpretation or retribution.
Back to top Go down
http://www.christianhardmusic.com
Guilty/Forgiven

avatar

Number of posts : 9175
Age : 49
Localisation : Here
Registration date : 2007-05-18

PostSubject: Re: SacrivoX Metal Fest III Anticipation and Review   Thu Jul 26, 2018 11:00 am

Alldat - I would LOVE to see 7th Day Slumber ! That would be a great show by itself. And yeh, I agree, there isn't much that interests me this year  Sad. Honestly, as for me personally, I don't care for the direction this Fest is heading. I realize it's not about me, it's actually a ministry at the end of the day, but I really loved the first 2 years -
Year ONE:
TEMPEST (Mick Rowe) 
In The Midst (Gary Lee)  
Join The Dead
Chaotic Resemblance
Worldview
Bloodgood 

Year TWO:
Die Happy with a Vengeance (split set with the 4 original members of both bands!)
Worldview
Recon
Saint
Neon Cross
The Hero
Chaotic Resemblance
D.O.G. 
Hand of Fire
BioGenesis

With the great classic rock/metal bands of our time increasing in number from the first year, I was SUPER excited for the 3rd annual.... only to find out it's no longer a "METAL Fest" but now a "MUSIC Fest" and there's a horde of modern bands, stuff today's kids listen to.  I assumed there were ALREADY plenty of THOSE kind of concerts and festivals going on... I wanted this one and only rare event of OUR metal bands to keep going every year... but alas, all good things DIE !  (Now look, I've got myself all worked up Laughing )
Back to top Go down
alldatndensum
Admin
avatar

Number of posts : 19346
Age : 49
Localisation : Tennessee
Registration date : 2007-01-30

PostSubject: Re: SacrivoX Metal Fest III Anticipation and Review   Thu Jul 26, 2018 11:35 am

With the changes in musical styles even in Christian music, I have realized we are dinosaurs and that our heyday is long past.  😭😭😭

_________________




I might have decided, or maybe not, that I should or shouldn't, depending on the issue or non-issue, to possibly share or not share, any thoughts, opinions, or facts (that might not be deemed factual by some), due to possible fear of any misinterpretation or retribution.
Back to top Go down
http://www.christianhardmusic.com
Through The Dark Radio

avatar

Number of posts : 3412
Age : 48
Localisation : Pennsylvania
Registration date : 2013-09-17

PostSubject: Re: SacrivoX Metal Fest III Anticipation and Review   Thu Jul 26, 2018 11:57 am

I believe Michael Knott had to skip out for some reason but Mike Stand of the Altar Boys is taking his place.
Back to top Go down
Xid

avatar

Number of posts : 3790
Age : 49
Localisation : Kalispell, MT
Registration date : 2014-03-12

PostSubject: Re: SacrivoX Metal Fest III Anticipation and Review   Thu Jul 26, 2018 4:50 pm

alldatndensum wrote:
With the changes in musical styles even in Christian music, I have realized we are dinosaurs and that our heyday is long past.  😭😭😭

I refuse to give up.  Good music has to return one day.  Rush's 2112 predicts this.
Back to top Go down
http://www.joshuascreed.com
alldatndensum
Admin
avatar

Number of posts : 19346
Age : 49
Localisation : Tennessee
Registration date : 2007-01-30

PostSubject: Re: SacrivoX Metal Fest III Anticipation and Review   Fri Jul 27, 2018 7:46 am

Xid wrote:
alldatndensum wrote:
With the changes in musical styles even in Christian music, I have realized we are dinosaurs and that our heyday is long past.  😭😭😭

I refuse to give up.  Good music has to return one day.  Rush's 2112 predicts this.



We all HOPE it will.  I wouldn't put too much stock in a Rush prophecy.  Now, if Jesus had said, "Behold, before the Son of Man cometh, great music shall ariseth from thine ashes," I would definitely believe it.  lol!

_________________




I might have decided, or maybe not, that I should or shouldn't, depending on the issue or non-issue, to possibly share or not share, any thoughts, opinions, or facts (that might not be deemed factual by some), due to possible fear of any misinterpretation or retribution.
Back to top Go down
http://www.christianhardmusic.com
Xid

avatar

Number of posts : 3790
Age : 49
Localisation : Kalispell, MT
Registration date : 2014-03-12

PostSubject: Re: SacrivoX Metal Fest III Anticipation and Review   Fri Jul 27, 2018 9:40 am

lol!
Back to top Go down
http://www.joshuascreed.com
Hardkore

avatar

Number of posts : 1993
Age : 48
Localisation : Lower Alabama
Registration date : 2007-06-03

PostSubject: Re: SacrivoX Metal Fest III Anticipation and Review   Sat Jul 28, 2018 1:03 pm

I just read over at the Altar Boys Facebook page that Michael Knott dropped out and they asked Mike Stand to fill in...he said yes. So he(possibly with the band) are supposed to be there today 3 to 3:30.
Back to top Go down
Through The Dark Radio

avatar

Number of posts : 3412
Age : 48
Localisation : Pennsylvania
Registration date : 2013-09-17

PostSubject: Re: SacrivoX Metal Fest III Anticipation and Review   Mon Jul 30, 2018 7:43 am

Looks like Jim had a good time  Very Happy
Back to top Go down
Guilty/Forgiven

avatar

Number of posts : 9175
Age : 49
Localisation : Here
Registration date : 2007-05-18

PostSubject: Re: SacrivoX Metal Fest III Anticipation and Review   Mon Jul 30, 2018 4:52 pm

A good time indeed  Cool
I'll get the negative over with first: Highly disorganized. NONE of the bands started on their time slot. Now, it's normal to be a little late... but Saturday the bands were playing 2 to 3 hours late, several weren't even there. NO ONE made any announcements whatsoever (makes ya miss Dale Huffman) so you had ZERO idea who was playing when. I missed 4 bands I wanted to see and was not happy about that. But the kicker was Deliverance. They were suppose to be onstage at 8pm. To which Lisa and I planned on a late dinner date around 10PM or whenever they finished. We waited thru band after band for hours until 11PM. I was tired, in tremendous pain and I felt horrible that I was over an hour into Lisa's time at this point. When they still hadn't started by 11:30, I just said "no band is this important" and left. Deliverance were over 3 hours late taking the stage. I got to see a lot of fine bands play and had a lot of great fellowship, including hanging with all 4 members of Deliverance, but to see them play ? Maybe another day.

The good news: Had a KILLER time with a bunch of band members, Bill of ROXX, Dave of Covenant Metal, hung with several vendors, bought up wicked cool clearance deals of CDs and LPs. So the negative aside (and I purposely keep it aside on FB cuz though I was pretty pissed, I don't want to make anyone feel bad), I still had a great time. Got a bunch of autographs, mostly on my battle jacket. The entire Deliverance band signed my jacket  cheers so that was cool. 

A lot of the bands that played upstairs (don't even remember most of the band names) were just not my thing - death, growls, screams, etc. But i still went up there and supported them throughout the day. Grave Robber was certainly a highlight, as was BioGenesis, Crushing the Deceiver, DIRT, and Chaotic Resemblance did an acoustic set that was very worshipful and fun.  

Overall, I had fun. I would do it again given the chance. Will I go next year ? Doubt it.
Back to top Go down
kerrick

avatar

Number of posts : 2616
Age : 31
Registration date : 2013-07-17

PostSubject: Re: SacrivoX Metal Fest III Anticipation and Review   Mon Jul 30, 2018 5:55 pm

Oh man that is such a drag about the lack of organization!  Major bummer...  Back in the town I grew up, they started having a yearly beer festival.  The first year organizationally it was completely a mess.  The following year was still a mess but better, and by the third or fourth one, they had it down pretty well.  Perhaps Sacrivox had someone new doing it this year who didn't have much experience with an event this large.  Like the beer festival, I wonder if they'll learn from their mistakes and improve it next time.  All that to say, I wouldn't encourage you to not go next year just because of how this year went!

You should post some pictures here of your battle jacket and other merch you got.  Smile
Back to top Go down
MikeInFla

avatar

Number of posts : 2029
Age : 47
Localisation : Panama City, FL
Registration date : 2012-03-18

PostSubject: Re: SacrivoX Metal Fest III Anticipation and Review   Mon Jul 30, 2018 7:31 pm

I'll be patiently waiting for your youtube video showing your scores. Can't wait to see what you picked up!
Back to top Go down
Guilty/Forgiven

avatar

Number of posts : 9175
Age : 49
Localisation : Here
Registration date : 2007-05-18

PostSubject: Re: SacrivoX Metal Fest III Anticipation and Review   Mon Jul 30, 2018 7:58 pm

Oh yes, pix are definitely going up here soon ! Got some great ones. 

Since the beginning 3 years ago, it's been the same person running this show with a few others helping him. I don't think it's something where fingers could be pointed at one person or circumstance. I think there are several factors that didn't come together right, and ended up doing a domino thing.

The first 2 years went beautifully with artists actually there and on time within minutes. I do think the massive increase in bands was a huge contributing factor to the disorganization. Kind of shot themselves in the foot :-\

I wouldn't encourage you to not go next year just because of how this year went!

Oh I'm definitely not making my decision based on their inability to work together. I actually wasn't going this year due to very low finances and my condition making it more difficult each year to travel and do these all day fests... but thru the magic of pharmaceuticals I was able to rock this weekend away !  Woo Headbang
Back to top Go down
Guilty/Forgiven

avatar

Number of posts : 9175
Age : 49
Localisation : Here
Registration date : 2007-05-18

PostSubject: Re: SacrivoX Metal Fest III Anticipation and Review   Mon Jul 30, 2018 8:11 pm

Quote :
I'll be patiently waiting for your youtube video showing your scores. Can't wait to see what you picked up!

Honestly, I only got a handful of albums to add to my personal collection. The rest is a huge stack of clearance, dollar CDs that happen to be duplicates and/or upgrades of what I already own. Couldn't pass em up, they're gonna be great for trading and some for selling. But yeh, I'll def be doing a vid. Not only to show my scores, but to talk about the bands and who signed my jacket, etc,
Back to top Go down
Through The Dark Radio

avatar

Number of posts : 3412
Age : 48
Localisation : Pennsylvania
Registration date : 2013-09-17

PostSubject: Re: SacrivoX Metal Fest III Anticipation and Review   Tue Jul 31, 2018 9:05 am

Yeah, you really need quite a few people to work something like this really well.  The Up From The Ashes concert that I went to several years ago was pretty well run.  Adding more bands makes logistics a nightmare for anyone so they have to be ready.

Glad to hear that you got plenty of autographs on your battle jacket and scored some good music  cheers
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: SacrivoX Metal Fest III Anticipation and Review   

Back to top Go down
 
SacrivoX Metal Fest III Anticipation and Review
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» New REINXEED review at Angelic Warlord
» Mehida - "Blood & Water" review
» Scandinavian Metal Praise
» paula abdul and metal? Straight up now tell me....
» Metal, Rock & Industrial Challenge #3: The Playlist

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Christian Hard Music :: Warped Drive - General Discussion-
Jump to: