For lovers of Christian rock and heavy metal!
 
HomeHome  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Share | 
 

 John Schlitt - "The Greater Cause" review at Angelic Warlord

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Dynamis

avatar

Number of posts : 1464
Localisation : Arizona
Registration date : 2007-04-28

PostSubject: John Schlitt - "The Greater Cause" review at Angelic Warlord   Sun Jan 20, 2013 10:41 pm

Hello,

I just updated Angelic Warlord to include a review of the new solo release from John Schlitt, "The Greater Cause". Following is the link: http://www.angelicwarlord.com/reviews/s/schlitt12.html

Please let me know what you think. I also have an extensive News update as well.

Thanks,

Andy
Back to top Go down
http://www.angelicwarlord.com/
alldatndensum
Admin
avatar

Number of posts : 17985
Age : 47
Localisation : Tennessee
Registration date : 2007-01-30

PostSubject: Re: John Schlitt - "The Greater Cause" review at Angelic Warlord   Sun Jan 20, 2013 11:45 pm

Your review is written quite well. I disagree with it, but that's ok. I like even the acoustic tracks as they do give a more intimate glimpse into John's heart. I can't think of a track on this that I don't like. As you can tell by my favorites list for 2012, I ranked it a lot higher on my list. I'd bump it up to an 80% at least if I were ranking this. Personally, I liked this album way more than the Classic Petra album. This sounds more like Petra SHOULD.

_________________




I might have decided, or maybe not, that I should or shouldn't, depending on the issue or non-issue, to possibly share or not share, any thoughts, opinions, or facts (that might not be deemed factual by some), due to possible fear of any misinterpretation or retribution.
Back to top Go down
http://www.christianhardmusic.com
Staybrite

avatar

Number of posts : 18073
Age : 49
Localisation : Seattle
Registration date : 2007-02-08

PostSubject: Re: John Schlitt - "The Greater Cause" review at Angelic Warlord   Mon Jan 21, 2013 1:08 pm

Haven't had a chance to check out the review yet but I will.

_________________
"I used to be indecisive.......... Now I'm not sure."
Back to top Go down
Fundy

avatar

Number of posts : 3688
Age : 43
Registration date : 2007-05-04

PostSubject: Re: John Schlitt - "The Greater Cause" review at Angelic Warlord   Mon Jan 21, 2013 1:33 pm

I think alldat summed it up for me too. I thought it was a great release and is in my top 3 of the year. To each his own.

Fundy

_________________
My Christian Metal Website.........
Silence Is Madness

Three Things for a better life...
1 - Believe In Jesus.
2 - Love one another.
3 - Let God be the judge.

That is all I need to say.
Back to top Go down
https://sites.google.com/site/silenceismadness777/
ChosenOne

avatar

Number of posts : 858
Age : 41
Localisation : Iowa
Registration date : 2007-09-06

PostSubject: Re: John Schlitt - "The Greater Cause" review at Angelic Warlord   Mon Jan 21, 2013 6:30 pm

Yeah, it is a great album. Definitley makes you wish for a new Petra album with him at the vocals. I honestly can't think of 1 song that I don't like. I will say this thou for producer choice, I would disagree slighty. If he is to hook up with a mainstream producer Erik Martensdon (I think the last name is wrong) from the melodic bands W.E.T. & Eclipse should handle it. He did wonders to Jimi Jamison (Survivor) new album.
Back to top Go down
Staybrite

avatar

Number of posts : 18073
Age : 49
Localisation : Seattle
Registration date : 2007-02-08

PostSubject: Re: John Schlitt - "The Greater Cause" review at Angelic Warlord   Tue Jan 22, 2013 1:15 pm

I read your review Andy, and I gotta ask how do you think this album compares to John's previous solo albums?

I have to confess to not being much of a fan of John's solo work. I had his first two solo albums and disliked them so much I traded them away (never got his third), but I thought this latest album was the best solo album he has done (yes I kept this one).

_________________
"I used to be indecisive.......... Now I'm not sure."
Back to top Go down
Dynamis

avatar

Number of posts : 1464
Localisation : Arizona
Registration date : 2007-04-28

PostSubject: Re: John Schlitt - "The Greater Cause" review at Angelic Warlord   Tue Jan 22, 2013 9:51 pm

Quote :
I read your review Andy, and I gotta ask how do you think this album compares to John's previous solo albums?

I
have to confess to not being much of a fan of John's solo work. I had
his first two solo albums and disliked them so much I traded them away
(never got his third), but I thought this latest album was the best solo
album he has done (yes I kept this one).

Good question- I have heard certain songs or portions of songs off the first two albums but have never owned either of the three or listened to them in their entirety. I have heard good things about the first two so perhaps I need to pick them up and give them a try.

Also, my favorite John Schlitt album is the self-titled Project Damage Control release- seriously considering putting together a review.
Back to top Go down
http://www.angelicwarlord.com/
unworthy

avatar

Number of posts : 856
Age : 38
Localisation : Arcanum, OH
Registration date : 2012-06-08

PostSubject: Re: John Schlitt - "The Greater Cause" review at Angelic Warlord   Tue Jan 22, 2013 11:35 pm

I like unfit for swine
Back to top Go down
http://www.tourniquetfan.net/me/
alldatndensum
Admin
avatar

Number of posts : 17985
Age : 47
Localisation : Tennessee
Registration date : 2007-01-30

PostSubject: Re: John Schlitt - "The Greater Cause" review at Angelic Warlord   Wed Jan 23, 2013 8:45 am

I think all of John's releases are worthy of getting except for the one that was all CCM ballads. I passed on that one. The other three are great as long as you aren't expecting a Petra clone. The newest is the closest thing to that sound, though.

_________________




I might have decided, or maybe not, that I should or shouldn't, depending on the issue or non-issue, to possibly share or not share, any thoughts, opinions, or facts (that might not be deemed factual by some), due to possible fear of any misinterpretation or retribution.
Back to top Go down
http://www.christianhardmusic.com
unworthy

avatar

Number of posts : 856
Age : 38
Localisation : Arcanum, OH
Registration date : 2012-06-08

PostSubject: Re: John Schlitt - "The Greater Cause" review at Angelic Warlord   Wed Jan 23, 2013 11:43 am

why would I want a Petra clone?!?! lol
Back to top Go down
http://www.tourniquetfan.net/me/
Staybrite

avatar

Number of posts : 18073
Age : 49
Localisation : Seattle
Registration date : 2007-02-08

PostSubject: Re: John Schlitt - "The Greater Cause" review at Angelic Warlord   Wed Jan 23, 2013 11:59 am

unworthy wrote:
why would I want a Petra clone?!?! lol

I dunno, maybe you loved Petra with John and don't like them with Greg, and a John Schlitt solo album that sounds like a rocking Petra disc is the best you can do.....or maybe not. Laughing

_________________
"I used to be indecisive.......... Now I'm not sure."
Back to top Go down
unworthy

avatar

Number of posts : 856
Age : 38
Localisation : Arcanum, OH
Registration date : 2012-06-08

PostSubject: Re: John Schlitt - "The Greater Cause" review at Angelic Warlord   Wed Jan 23, 2013 12:57 pm

if I want to hear Petra there are plenty of good discs for me to choose from!
Back to top Go down
http://www.tourniquetfan.net/me/
alldatndensum
Admin
avatar

Number of posts : 17985
Age : 47
Localisation : Tennessee
Registration date : 2007-01-30

PostSubject: Re: John Schlitt - "The Greater Cause" review at Angelic Warlord   Wed Jan 23, 2013 6:22 pm

Staybrite wrote:
unworthy wrote:
why would I want a Petra clone?!?! lol

I dunno, maybe you loved Petra with John and don't like them with Greg, and a John Schlitt solo album that sounds like a rocking Petra disc is the best you can do.....or maybe not. Laughing



To be honest, I feel that a lot of Petra fans were expecting John's solo stuff to sound exactly as his material with the band sounded. They wanted a second helping of Petra. There are a lot of similarities, but John also has a slight style difference. Personally, if I can't get Petra with John, his new solo disc is just as good. Actually, I love all of these and in this order:


The Greater Cause
Shake
Unfit For Swine

_________________




I might have decided, or maybe not, that I should or shouldn't, depending on the issue or non-issue, to possibly share or not share, any thoughts, opinions, or facts (that might not be deemed factual by some), due to possible fear of any misinterpretation or retribution.
Back to top Go down
http://www.christianhardmusic.com
rockerVu2

avatar

Number of posts : 14576
Age : 88
Registration date : 2007-02-09

PostSubject: Re: John Schlitt - "The Greater Cause" review at Angelic Warlord   Thu Jan 24, 2013 10:45 am

I'm glad John has showed to have an own style, maybe different then when he was in Petra.

I've to check out some samples of his solo stuff.
Back to top Go down
Driven

avatar

Number of posts : 5611
Age : 99
Localisation : Sherbrooke, QC
Registration date : 2011-03-26

PostSubject: Re: John Schlitt - "The Greater Cause" review at Angelic Warlord   Thu Jan 24, 2013 10:56 am

I got Shake for $2 at a thrift shop around here. Pretty good, although it's a typical solo album (to me) with several ballads and a few hard-hitters with experimental stuff. Wake The Dead is a great tune, though.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: John Schlitt - "The Greater Cause" review at Angelic Warlord   

Back to top Go down
 
John Schlitt - "The Greater Cause" review at Angelic Warlord
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» john Schlitt - The Greater Cause
» John Schlitt Solo Album
» New REINXEED review at Angelic Warlord
» GOLDEN RESURRECTION review at Angelic Warlord
» New X-SINNER review at Angelic Warlord

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Christian Hard Music :: The BUZZ!!! Music that ROCKS your face off!-
Jump to: